Tue 10AM – 7PM
Wed 10AM – 7PM
Thu 10AM – 9PM
Fri 10AM – 7PM
Sat 10AM – 6PM
Sun 12PM – 6PM
Closed Monday




Show Map

Musiqa Loft Concert: Music Outside the Lines

Thursday, November 7 | 6:30PM

Musiqa, recipient of the 2013 Chamber Music America/American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers Award for Adventurous Programming of Contemporary Music, will present a concert featuring percussionists Craig Hauschildt and Blake Wilkins. The concert showcases the rhythmically complex percussive masterpiece Rebonds pt. B, written by Greek composer Iannis Xenakis, a work written by György Ligeti titled, Continuum, a work by composer Fredrik Andersson, and in honor of CAMH’s recent 65th anniversary, Blake Wilkins will perform a new score.

The performance will take place in the Outside the Lines exhibition space. Outside the Lines is a six-part exhibition series inspired by CAMH's history that considers the present and future of abstract painting.

About Musiqa

Winner of the 2013 Chamber Music America/ASCAP Adventurous Programming Award, Musiqa is a non-profit organization dedicated to the performance of contemporary classical music. Founded in 2002 and led by five composers, Musiqa aims to enrich and inspire the community through programs that integrate contemporary music with other modern art forms. Musiqa celebrates modern creative arts through interdisciplinary concerts that highlight modern music and its connections to literature, film, dance, art, and more. With its innovative collaborations and educational programming, Musiqa strives to make modern repertoire accessible and vital to audiences of all ages and musical backgrounds.

About the composers

Swedish composer Frederik Andersson is still making music today; however, he has proved as mysterious as his music and little definitive biographical information about him is available. Andersson has revealed that his primary percussion education took place in Gothenburg, Sweden. He then attended the Rotterdam Conservatory in The Netherlands where he studied marimba with Robert Van Sice while continuing classical piano study. After matriculating at Rotterdam, he continued private piano study with Bulgarian pianist Bodan Vodenicharov in Brussels, Belgium. The composer has provided no program notes to accompany his pieces, leaving performers and audiences to wonder about the sparse textures of the music as well as about the evocative, enigmatic titles of his works. In the mid-1990s, he composed "not everything which happens is in the newspaper" (1993) for solo marimba, which creates a mysterious sonic world that is unique in the percussion realm.
Blake Wilkins is an Associate Professor of Music and Director of Percussion Studies at the University of Houston's Moores School of Music. Under his direction the Moores School's Percussion Ensemble has distinguished itself by winning the Percussive Arts Society International Percussion Ensemble Competition three times (2003, 2006, 2010), through the release of two critically acclaimed compact discs, and through its commissioning project, which has generated 11 new works for large percussion ensemble. From 1993-'97, he served as percussionist and substitute principal timpanist with the Oklahoma City Philharmonic. A strong advocate for the performance of new music, he performs regularly with Musiqa. He also co-founded two experimental improvisation ensembles: El Dos with bassist Michael Lee and The Moment Trio with Lee and pianist/violist Christian Asplund. Active as a composer, Mr. Wilkins has studied composition with Robert Moore, James Hopkins and Michael Hennagin, among others.
Gyorgy Sandor Ligeti (1923-2006) was a composer of contemporary classical music. He is widely considered one of the most important and innovative composers of the second half of the 20th century. Born in Transylvania, Romania, he lived in Hungary before emigrating and becoming an Austrian citizen. In his early years, he studied in Cluj, Hungary and during the summers in Budapest. Later, he studied in Budapest under Zoltan Kodaly and taught harmony, counterpoint and musical analysis at the Franz Liszt Academy of Music. He fled to Vienna after the Hungarian Revolution in 1956 and moved to Cologne soon after, where he met several key avant-garde figures and learned about more contemporary musical styles and methods, as well as electronic music. However, he produced little of his own electronic music, instead writing instrumental works which often contain electronic-sounding textures. He later taught music in Hamburg and his music became well respected in the 1960s. Ligeti produced his greatest number of works through the 1980s and '90s.
Iannis Xenakis (1922-2001) was a Greek composer, music theorist and architect-engineer. Born in Romania and raised in Greece, he attended the Technical University of Athens. But after 1947 during the war, he fled Greece, later studying in Paris with the architect Le Corbusier. While working for Le Corbusier, he was studying harmony and counterpoint and composing. He studied with Olivier Messiaen in the early 1950s, and after leaving the architect's studio in 1959, he supported himself by composition and teaching. He quickly became recognized as one of the most important European composers of his time and eventually became a naturalized citizen of France. Xenakis is commonly recognized as one of the most important post-war avant-garde composers. He pioneered the use of mathematical models, such as applications of set theory, varied use of stochastic processes and game theory in his music, and was also an important influence on the development of electronic music.


images + video:

Guorgy Ligeti, "Continuum"Iannis Xenakis, "Rebonds pt. B"
back to top