Museum admission is free.

Open Call | Teen Council-Curated 13th Biennial Exhibition

September 28, 2022 – November 29, 2022 all-day
Open Call | Teen Council-Curated 13th Biennial Exhibition

CAMH’s Teen Council invites Houston-area teen artists to submit work for their 13th biennial exhibition!

Every other year, CAMH’s Teen Council organizes an exhibition featuring new work by teen artists living in Greater Houston. Drawing from an open call, the Council members will select work that effectively responds to the questions posed by the exhibition’s theme.

The 13th biennial exhibition will be on view February 16–June 18, 2023 in CAMH’s lower-level Nina and Michael Zilkha Gallery. Learn more about our upcoming exhibitions here.

Exhibition Theme

Consider a “personal rebirth” of yours in which there was a “before” and “after” moment. What did you leave behind? What are you taking into your new reality? How have you been born anew?

Submission Deadline

The deadline to submit to this open call is Tuesday, November 29, 2022 at 4PM CST. Applicants must submit online via Submittable. For more information on the open call and guidelines, click here.

About Teen Council

Composed of young arts enthusiasts, Teen Council serves as the Museum’s vehicle for attracting the city’s teen population to CAMH and exposing them to the vibrant field of contemporary art. For council members, the group serves as a highly collaborative creative incubator that opens up opportunities for leadership, visual literacy, and life skill development. During weekly meetings, the council is introduced to the inner workings of museums and to the dynamic Houston arts community. Teen Council activities are decided upon by its members and can change from year to year, but past events developed by the Teen Council include virtual zines, exhibitions, fashion shows, film screenings, listening parties, music festivals, and poetry readings.


Teen Council is made possible by generous support from H-E-B, and additional support from Mark and Mary Ann Miller, Louisa Stude Sarofim, and Dillon Kyle and Sam Lasseter.