Museum admission is free.

Public Opening | Where Do We Go From Here?

February 16, 2023 @ 7:00PM – 9:00PM
Public Opening | Where Do We Go From Here?

Join us for the opening of Teen Council’s 13th biennial exhibition, Where Do We Go From Here?

Where Do We Go From Here? is a group exhibition featuring work by 25 Houston-area teen artists. Students submitted work in response to the questions: What did you leave behind? What are you taking into your new reality? And how have you been born anew? Through a variety of media including painting, photography, sculpture, and video, the artists share stories not necessarily about radical circumstances, but about how they reflected, grew, and matured from their unique life experiences.

The public opening reception is free to attend, but RSVPs are encouraged. CAMH members will get a private first look at the exhibition during the Member’s Preview from 6–7PM.


Location and Accessibility

This event will take place in the Nina and Michael Zilkha Gallery, located on the lower level of the Museum.

Featured Artists

Saj Baldwin, Beau Beaudette, Zei Carassco, Amelia Craypo, Allison Cully, Hannah Dang, Thanh Duong, Ava Finch, Olivia Forque, Giselle Galeas, Ahrihanna Gonzalez, Ryan Kirkpatrick, Jackie Neumann, Sophia Reinhardt, Mia Rodriguez, Annie Serrano, Aleena Sheikh, Sara Shen, Ira Sison, Getzamary Solano, Brandon Sun, Abigail Tobey, Zoe Villalobos, Lina Wu, Aileen Zhang

About Teen Council

Composed of young arts enthusiasts, Teen Council serves as the Museum’s vehicle for attracting the city’s teen population to CAMH and exposing them to the vibrant field of contemporary art. For council members, the group serves as a highly collaborative creative incubator that opens up opportunities for leadership, visual literacy, and life skill development. During weekly meetings, the council is introduced to the inner workings of museums and to the dynamic Houston arts community. Teen Council activities are decided upon by its members and can change from year to year, but past events developed by the Teen Council include virtual zines, exhibitions, fashion shows, film screenings, listening parties, music festivals, and poetry readings.

2022–23 Teen Council Members
Holden Aramburu, Elisabeth Bell, Alexandra Davis Donaldson, Sarah Jones, Lucy Katz, Jones Mays, Matthew Messinger, Kaviya Ravikumar, Max Scholl, Camille Siptak, Elliot Stravato, Katelyn Ta, and Julia Wykoff.


Teen Council is made possible by generous support from H-E-B, and additional support from Mark and Mary Ann Miller, Louisa Stude Sarofim, and Dillon Kyle and Sam Lasseter.


Image caption: Saj Baldwin, Dreams of the Sublime, 2022. Graphite, charcoal, textured paper, acrylic paint, gesso, mixed media paper, wood frame, and foam core mat, 24 x 30 inches. Image and work courtesy the artist.