Museum admission is free.

Origins of the Self

On View: January 28, 2017 - May 7, 2017
February 22, 2018 @ 7:00PM – 8:00PM
Nina and Michael Zilkha Gallery
Origins of the Self @ Nina and Michael Zilkha Gallery

Opening Reception: Friday, January 27, 2017 | 6:30 – 9PM

The Contemporary Arts Museum Houston’s Teen Council is pleased to present Origins of the Self, a group exhibition featuring work by Houston-area teen artists. The exhibition will focus on questions of personal identity. This is the 10th biennial youth art exhibition organized by CAMH’s Teen Council.

Every other year, CAMH’s Teen Council organizes a Perspectives exhibition in the Zilkha Gallery featuring new work by young, Houston-area artists. The Teen Council selects the theme and title of the exhibition while partnering with CAMH staff to develop exhibition design, a printed catalogue, and public programming. Drawing from an open call, the Teen Council will select work that effectively responds to the questions: What is the real you? Where is the real you? How do you define the real you in a constantly evolving landscape? The deadline for submissions was November 2, 2016.

About CAMH’s Teen Council
The Teen Council is a group of dedicated high-school students who are employed by the museum to create programming for their peers. Council members participate in a two year-long program where they receive in-depth, behind-the-scenes museum experience; learn about pathways to creative careers; and develop leadership, collaboration, and critical thinking skills while gaining real-world experience planning exhibitions and events in a museum setting. Applications to CAMH’s Teen Council are available online Spring 2017.


Origins of the Self is supported in part by an award from Mid-America Arts Alliance, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Texas Commission on the Arts, and foundations, corporations, and individuals throughout Arkansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Texas.

Teen Council is generously supported by Ms. Louisa Stude Sarofim.

This exhibition is made possible by the patrons, benefactors, and donors to the Museum’s Friends of Steel Exhibitions:

Director’s Circle
Chinhui Juhn and Eddie Allen
Fayez Sarofim
Ms. Louisa Stude Sarofim

Curator’s Circle
Dillon Kyle Architecture, Inc.
Mr. and Mrs. I. H. Kempner III
Robin and Andrew Schirrmeister

Major Exhibition Circle
A Fare Extraordinaire
Bergner and Johnson Design
Jereann Chaney
Marita and J.B. Fairbanks
Barbara and Michael Gamson
Blakely and Trey Griggs
George and Mary Josephine Hamman Foundation
Leslie and Mark Hull
Jackson and Company
Beverly and Howard Robinson
Michael Zilkha

Perspectives Exhibition Circle
Ruth Dreessen and Thomas Van Laan
Glen Gonzalez and Steve Summers
Louise D. Jamail
Leigh and Reggie Smith
Mr. Wallace Wilson
The Susan Vaughan Foundation, Inc.

The catalogue accompanying the exhibition is made possible by a grant from The Brown Foundation, Inc. of Houston.

Funding for the Museum’s operations and programs is made possible by generous grants from Chinhui Juhn and Eddie Allen, Jereann Chaney, Marita and J.B. Fairbanks, Jo and Jim Furr, Barbara and Michael Gamson, Brenda and William Goldberg, Leticia Loya, Fayez Sarofim, Robin and Andrew Schirrmeister, and Marion and David Young.The Museum receives partial operating support from The Brown Foundation, Inc. of Houston, the Houston Endowment, the City of Houston through the Houston Museum District Association, the Texas Commission on the Arts, The Wortham Foundation, Inc., and Art Market Productions.

CAMH also thanks its artist benefactors for their support, including Christ Beckman, Michael Bise, Bruce High Quality foundation, Mel Chin, Jules de Balincourt, Julia Dault, Trenton Doyle Hancock, James Drake, Keltie Ferris, Mark Flood, Barnaby Furnas, Theaster Gates, Jeffrey Gibson, Camille Henrot, Jim Hodges, Joan Jonas, Jennie C. Jones, Maya Lin, Julian Lorber, Robert Mangold, Beatriz Milhazes, Melissa Miller, Marilyn Minter, Nic Nicosia, Angel Otero, McKay Otto, Joyce Pensanto, Enoc Perez, Gavin Perry, Robert Pruitt, Matthew Richie, Ed Ruscha, Jacolby Satterwhite, Cindy Sherman, Shinique Smith, Al Souza, John Sparagana, James Surls, Sam Taylor-Johnson, Carrie Mae Weems, William Wegman, Haegue Yang, and Brenna Youngblood.

United is the Official Airline of the Contemporary Arts Museum Houston.