Museum admission is free.

Teen Council Group Show

On View: June 10, 2016 - June 12, 2016
February 22, 2018 @ 7:00PM – 8:00PM
Texas Art Asylum, 1719 Live Oak St, Houston, TX
Teen Council Group Show @ Texas Art Asylum, 1719 Live Oak St, Houston, TX

The Contemporary Arts Museum Houston’s Teen Council is pleased to present Teen Council Group Show, an exhibition featuring work by Teen Council members on view at the Texas Art Asylum June 10-12, with an opening reception held June 10 from 7-10 PM. On the heels of the recently organized Teen Council Fall Music Festival at CAMH and Root Shift: Photographs of Stasis and Change, an exhibition on view at the Menil Collection through May 29, Teen Council Group Show is a multifaceted exhibition, highlighting the Teen Council members’ varied arts practices including painting, drawing, sculpture, writing, and music-based performance.

The works showcase each artist’s unique perspective on social, political, and personal issues. Alex Rodriguez’s sculptural work centers around recreating relationships important to them; Matthew Watowich’s art examines humankind’s increasingly distant relationship with the environment; and June Ngo’s work examines the art world politic through sculpture. In addition to the presentation of visual artwork by Teen Council members, the opening reception will feature the premiere of Kizer Shelton’s chapbook HOUSE, a reading by Jaelynn Walls, and a concert by Eli Winter. Presented together, Teen Council Group Show surveys a variety of art-making practices by teenage contemporary artists and creatives living in Houston who are committed to honing their skills as cultural leaders through the production of artistic practice, academic research, exhibit curation, and program organization.

Participating artists include: Hank Bond, Adrian Jimenez, El’Mashiyah Miller, Connor Mizell, June Ngo, Alex Rodriguez, Kizer Shelton, Jaelynn Walls, Matthew Watowich, Thor Westergaard, and Eli Winter.

About CAMH Teen Council

Composed of young arts enthusiasts, Teen Council serves as the Museum’s vehicle for attracting the city’s teen population to CAMH and exposing them to the vibrant field of contemporary art. For council members, the group serves as a highly collaborative creative incubator that opens up opportunities for leadership, visual literacy, and life skill development. During weekly meetings, the council is introduced to the inner workings of museums and to the dynamic Houston arts community. Teen Council activities are decided upon by it members and can change from year to year, but past events developed by the Teen Council include art markets, exhibitions, fashion shows, film screenings, listening parties, music festivals, and poetry readings. The members of the 2015-16 CAMH Teen Council are: Hank Bond, Adrian Jimenez, Charlie MagunEl’Mashiyah Miller, Connor Mizell, June Ngo, Alex Rodriguez, Kizer Shelton, Jaelyn Walls, Matthew Watowich, Thor Westergaard, Eli Winter, and Felicity Yiu.

Education Support

The Museum’s education and outreach programming has been made possible by the patrons, benefactors and donors to its Families of Steel Programming: Vera and Andy Baker, Elizabeth Howard Crowell, Melissa and Albert J.Grobmyer IV, Mady and Ken Kades, Kinder Morgan Foundation, Dillon Kyle Architecture, Inc., Leticia Loya, Marian and Speros Martel Foundation Endowment, Andrew R. McFarland, M.D. Anderson Foundation, Nordstrom, Cabrinaand Steven Owsley, Texas Commission on the Arts, and David and Marion Young. Teen Council is supported by Ms. Louisa Stude Sarofim.

General Support

Funding for the Museum’s operations through the Fund for the Future is made possible by generous grants from Chinhui Juhn and Eddie Allen, Jereann Chaney, Marita and J.B. Fairbanks, Jo and Jim Furr, Barbara and Michael Gamson, Brenda and William Goldberg, Leticia Loya, Fayez Sarofim, Robin and Andrew Schirrmeister and David and Marion Young.

The Museum’s operations and programs are made possible through the generosity of the Museum’s trustees, patrons, members and donors. The Contemporary Arts Museum Houston receives partial operating support from The Brown Foundation, Inc., Houston Endowment, the City of Houston through the Houston Museum District Association, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Texas Commission on the Arts, The Wortham Foundation, Inc. and artMRKTProductions. CAMH also thanks its artist benefactors for their support including Michael Bise, Bruce High Quality Foundation, Julia Dault, Keltie Ferris, Mark Flood, Barnaby Furnas, Theaster Gates, Jeffrey Gibson, Trenton Doyle Hancock, Jim Hodges, Joan Jonas, Jennie C. Jones, Maya Lin, Julian Lorber, Robert Mangold, Melissa Miller, Marilyn Minter, Angel Otero, McKay Otto, Enoc Perez, Rob Pruitt, Matthew Ritchie, Dario Robleto, Ed Ruscha, Cindy Sherman, Shinique Smith, John Sparagana, Al Souza, James Surls, Sam Taylor-Johnson, William Wegman and Brenna Youngblood.

United is the Official Airline of the Contemporary Arts Museum Houston.