Museum admission is free.

Teen Council

Composed of young arts enthusiasts, Teen Council serves at the Museum’s vehicle for attracting the city’s teen population to CAMH and exposing them to the vibrant field of contemporary art. For council members, the group serves as a highly collaborative creative incubator that opens up opportunities for leadership, visual literacy, and life skill development. During weekly meetings, the council is introduced to the inner workings of museums and to the dynamic Houston arts community. Activities are decided upon by its members and can change from year to year, but past programs developed by the group include art markets, exhibitions, fashion shows, film screenings, listening parties, music festivals, and poetry slams.


As a teen collaborative of peers, united in our diversity of experience and identity, we aim to:

  • advance formative arts programming that connects young, local artists with young, local communities

  • engage in collective meaning-making which transcends individual identity, and

  • demystify the arts for young people regardless of their prior arts backgrounds

Apply to Teen Council

Applications for Teen Council are open to high school students grades 10–12. During weekly meetings, council members are introduced to the inner workings of museums and to the dynamic Houston arts community.

Biennial Exhibitions

Every other year, CAMH’s Teen Council organizes an exhibition in the Nina and Michael Zilkha Gallery featuring new work by young, Houston-area artists.

Public Programs

Designed by teens for teens, these programs are curated by Teen Council and relate to CAMH’s exhibitions and current issues impacting Houston teens. Past programs have art markets, fashion shows, film screenings, and more.

Open Calls

Young artists and creatives are invited to submit to Teen Council’s open calls for the exhibitions and programs they curate throughout the year.

2023–24 Teen Council Members

Christina Aramburu, Mylinh Bui, Sean Edwards, Tobi Falade, Kira Gougeon, Lucy Katz, Mirabela Kumar, Anjali Martinez, Reggie Medina-Lopez, Peace Okoh, Kaviya Ravikumar, Sara Shen, Camille Siptak, and Katelyn Ta


Teen Council is made possible by generous support from H-E-B, and additional support from Mark and Mary Ann Miller, Louisa Stude Sarofim, and Dillon Kyle and Sam Lasseter.