MartelAward LandingPage TeensPerform23 TashaGorel 2000x1250

Martel Award

The Marian and Speros Martel Award of the Contemporary Arts Museum Houston is given annually to a graduating senior at the Kinder High School for the Performing and Visual Arts in Houston (HSPVA). The recipient is chosen by CAMH’s Education and Public Programs Department in consultation with the Visual Arts Faculty at the school. The award is given to a student who has produced a significant and meritorious body of work during their senior year, who plans to attend an accredited college, university, or art school, and who shows exceptional promise in the visual arts and/or related creative professions.

In 2024, Faith Lopez was selected as the recipient of the annual Marian and Speros Martel Award, presented by Contemporary Arts Museum Houston. CAMH also acknowledges 2024 Martel Award finalists Opal Hansen, Daniela Diaz Pineda, Victoria Ramazzini, and Tyler Trevino.

Other Past Recipients

2021 | Tania Vega
2020 | Leonardo Garcia
2019 | Valerie Gonzalez
2018 | Caroline Perkison
2017 | Elizabeth Bomba-Bloom
2016 | Lillian Evans
2015 | Daniel Huerta
2014 | Sidney Tennant
2013 | Emma Daffin
2012 | Justine Ditto
2011 | Lauren Kramer
2010 | Tomas Feijo and Jody Alexandra Lu
2009 | Mary Brossman
2008 | Kamaria Shepherd
2007 | Sergio Jaimes and Georgia Williams
2006 | Erin McAleavey
2005 | Sarah Jones
2004 | Jerrell Jones
2003 | Alexis Herrera and Chris Jones
2002 | Emily Holland and Shidume Lozada
2001 | Katie Weymouth

Play Video

H. David Waddell on CAMH's Martel Award